My thought My World

Archive for December 8th, 2008

Thanks to Councilor Richard Yeoh who again applied permit for our candlelight vigil which as usual comes with the 12 clauses that basically denied us our rights for lighting candle, hanging banners, no political or racial speech, no NO TO ISA Shirt, no activities that show sympathy towards ISA detainees etc.

cimg3847_edit

Richard then past the mic to Haris.

cimg3850_edit

Last week when I was with my Indian friends, only then I know that the week when 24 of us were arrested, something happened to them as well. Since the HIN**AF was arrested, you know the banned word, ok, they have been organising prayers for them in Hulu Selangor. In fact they planned to do it last 12/11/08, but one of them was summoned by the Special Branch and they WARNED HIM NOT TO PRAY. They threaten him that if they proceed with the prayers, they will arrest them. After much thought, these people gathered enough courage and proceed with their prayers and good to them, no one was arrested that night. But they were threaten by the Special Branch who went there and it was meant to scare them away from participating these prayers in the future. Now I really have no idea what the police or the government is doing, first it was Yoga, then we saw cyclist arrested, now we saw prayers were threaten. I have discussed this with a few Pakatan MP, and they were shocked and willing to help, they will write a formal complain to the state CPO.

The people there will be holding another prayer this Friday at a place called Rasa, starts from 7-7.30 pm until 9 pm. They will be happy if we can join them but not so early at 7pm, but when they finished around 9pm. But I told them I’m happy to go around 7pm, and I can wait for them, I do hope to see many of you there. We are not going for the Hindu prayers, but we go there just to show solidarity, that will be good enough for them. Some light refreshment will also be served.

We have Pete (RPK) next, and before he reaches the mic, Richard cheekily remind RPK, no political speech buddy 🙂

cimg3851_edit

RPK begin his speech in BM (malay). Well tomorrow is the Hari Raya Haji celebration, so today, we gathered here to celebrate the Hari Raya Haji so we do not need a permit for that. And as the host for this, just like any host, I’m going to give a sermon. The government says that only the chinese, indians and the westernize malay are against the ISA, that these people spoke English not Malays. So today, I’m going to shows them, that I not only look like malay, but I speak Malays as well.

cimg3856_edit

Last Monday, when I was at the Bar Council forum about the ISA, there were 30 UMNO people, who gathered outside for their PRO ISA demonstration. They shouted about defending the Malay’s right with the used of ISA, they support the ISA and claimed that the ISA was needed to defend the Malay’s right. However, from the 60 plus ISA detainees inside Kamunting, only 2-3 were chinese, 6-7 indians, and the rest was all MALAYS. It’s the ISA that dumps the Malays inside Kamunting, so how the ISA can defend the Malay’s rights, I don’t know. There’s only one word to describe these people, MUNAFIQ (hypocrite).

cimg3857_edit

When I was in Kamunting, before I was release on the 7/11/08, all the ISA detainees received a memo which told us to pack our bags, but no, we are packing our bags NOT because we’ll be released. We packed our bags because we’ll be moved on the 10/11/08 to another block temporarily because the current block we’re housing will be demolished. It’ll be demolished not because the ISA will be abolish, instead it’ll be demolished because the government wants to build another BIGGER block, to prepare for housing more people. So the government have other plans, they are preparing for the next election, and UMNO had identified that the reason BN lost heavily on last election was because of the internet, bloggers, Malaysia Today. So before next election, we might see more people arrested under ISA, people like Haris, Bernard might be arrested. This is the real reason why UMNO needs ISA, because they want to stay in power, they have rule for 51 years and they want to stay another 51 years.

People from France is French, people from Italy is italians, people from China is chinese, people from India is Indian, so people from Malaysia MUST BE Malaysian, so I do not want to label us a malays, chinese, indians, kadazans, iban etc anymore, we are all MALAYSIAN.

I would like to thank my team of lawyers including Haris (standing at the back) there, for helping me, we have created history, we fight against Section 8B and we have won. Thank you everyone and Selamat Hari Raya Haji.

cimg3861_edit

Peter cheng, came up next and spoke in Malay. Well I have a message from Macau, there’s 300 Malaysian working there, and they know and supports what we are doing here.

cimg3865_edit

I’m Jaya, I have been attending this vigil for the past 9 weeks. The crowd was roughly the same. Last week after the vigil, I went to have a drink at the shop opposite the road. There were people watching footballs and when it was half time, I tried to stuck a conversation with them. I asked them do they know why we are here, holding this candlelight vigil. They said they don’t know why we were here. It was just oppposite and they don’t know why we were here. Imagine those outside. I believe we need to do more. There’s a few things we need to do, the first is of course, to us who are here, we need to know exactly why we are here. We need to know more than those who are not here, so that we can educate them, tell them about ISA. Then we can educate our MP as well. In fact I’m very dissappointed with the Pakatan MP, we have won 82 constituents, so at least we can do this at 82 different places, but no we didn’t. but never mind, we can do this together, starting by telling our friends. Let more people know about the ISA and our candlelight vigil.

cimg3868_edit

Next was Jonathan. I first joins the people back in last year, when I marched together with the 2000 lawyers in Putrajaya. They said when lawyers marched they must be problem with judiciary. I said when people gathered like this, there must be problem with the government. I have served as volunteer officer for 21 years, and I was trained that when people demonstrate, we the police defence, not by charging at them, like what they do few weeks ago. Same with Jaya, I also talked to people about this vigil, they said they vote for the opposition when the election comes, but when said why they didn’t come here then, they just laughed. They were afraid with the police, with the government. But we cannt run away from this, when RPK put his head on the chopping board we cannot be scared!!!

cimg3875_edit

Prof Azmi Sharom also came yesterday. He summoned up that the ISA represents all that is evil of this rotten system. The people voted against the BN because of the rotten system, and this automatically put the Pakatan Rakyat in the parliament. If the PR takes over the government they must get rid of this rotten system, if not the people willl not hessitate to kick them out.

cimg3884_edit

Hi I’m Melvin Sun, a Consulting Engineer (edited sorry for the ealier mistake) in the same age with RPK. I was raised by my parents to be colour blind, in fact my best friend is a Malay. Back in the 70s, the government implement a new ruling that if the contractors wants to get government contract, they need to have 30% Bumiputera participation. I’m HAPPY at that time, because this encourage intergration between races, so I followed. Then in 85, the government change the ruling to 51% Bumiputera participation. I’m confused, but later on, I thought OK since they are the majority of this country, so I complied. In early 2000s, another ruling comes. Now the government said for government contract below RM 30 millions, there MUST BE 100% BUMIPUTERA COMPANY. Of course I’m mad with this. This cannot be, the government is segregating the people. I talk on this in a forum for consulting engineers, there were a few hundred consulting engineers attend, and there’s NO ONE denied this when I talk on it, the rule was not recorded on paper, but when there’s noone denying this, I cannot be wrong. Due to this, I admit that I becomes more racist in the past few years, but RPK whack me up with his writings. I read his articles and begin to change back, I’m anak Malaysia.


cimg3885_edit

Next, we have a lovely lady, who stood up because the mens were hording the mic for whole night now! Haha. Well i have been reading RPK’s writing for some time, and i believe what he wrote. In fact, i was supposed to bring Wan Hamid here tonight but i was unable to contact him these few days. He wants to come to greet RPK since he was out from Kamunting. He was 80 years old, and there’s Uncle James who is 75 years old, but he knows everything that is happening in Malaysia.

cimg3858_editcimg3862_editcimg3869_editcimg3870_editcimg3872_edit

Read More from ; San Jiun, Lita, Jarod, Peng’s thots,Delcapo,